Do it in the Kitchen

Sarah Brose-131

Carmin Davidson and I collaborated on a project. Carmin is a really brilliant photographer and just so happens to be someone I went to pre-school with, wore snowpants with, played four-square with, had sleepovers with.

We share a history.

And although we never traded carrots for fruit roll-ups, we bonded over the fact that we desperately wanted to. That our mothers packed us colourful crunchy things we didn’t want to eat. Two carrots, better than one.

Carmin and I wanted to explore our own individual creative process.’  We wanted to explore what it would be like to take them apart, what it would be like to put them together.

Before the shoot, she asked:

I want you to write down some words about where you are right now: in your life and in your body.

She then provided me with very specific instructions:

I want you to be comfortable. Wear whatever you wish to display. Display you. I would like some music playing. Music you love. I’m going to bring some film and 3 cameras, my aeropress and ground hazelnut coffee (we can press it together) and some flowers.

So,

I wrote.

I gave her what I wrote.

From here, Carmin attached different words and feelings from these words to specific rooms in my apartment. I chose a pose that encapsulated these words, this feeling. She took a photograph that encapsulated these words, this feeling.

We always talk about what it’s like to take your Yoga off the mat. We do this through our energies and actions, yes. But what happens if we include the Asana part? What would it be like to kick back in Dancer’s in the kitchen, forward fold in the bathtub, shoulder-stand on the bed.

How can we really bring Yoga into our most personal spaces.

Paschimottanasana on a cold leather couch (what happens when I surrender on my grown-up couch, the one we bought from Craigslist Chris, replacing memories of crying, cockroaches and York.

Paschimottanasana on a cold leather couch (what happens when I surrender on my grown-up couch, the one we bought from Craigslist Chris, replacing memories of crying, cockroaches and York)

Ardha Matsyendrasana on the cut-off coffee table (it used to be my desk)

Ardha Matsyendrasana on the cut-off coffee table (it used to be my desk, the year I couldn’t stop crying)

Seated Meditation on an open field of leather shag (the one we laid out to cover what was cold and barren, the one we dug our toes into to mark the beginning)

Seated Meditation on an open field of leather shag (the one we laid out to cover what was cold and barren, the one we dug our toes into to mark the beginning)

Dangling in the middle of the living room (stand on something you shouldn't stand on, let go completely)

Dangling in the middle of the living room (stand on something you shouldn’t stand on, let go completely)

Natarajasana in the middle of your grandmother's kitchen (that is my kitchen)

Natarajasana in the middle of your grandmother’s kitchen (that is my kitchen), reach for the plates (they are the Sound of Music)

Setu-Bandhasana on the  cold kitchen floor, with a view of the plates.

Setu-Bandhasana on the cold kitchen floor, with a view of the plates (close your eyes and imagine the her singing)

Ustrasana by the stove, a heart opening for the kettle that screams

Ustrasana by the stove, a heart opening for the kettle that screams

coming up slowly,

What does it feel like to come up (slower than you want to)

leading with the heart,

Sarah Brose-127

Sarah Brose-128

Sarah Brose-132

Mountain Pose against the mustard-coloured tiles, the ones that hear my heart talking

Sarah Brose-134

Garudasana in the shower, how to focus your gaze on one thing even thought there are a million mustard-coloured things around you

Sarah Brose-137

Forward fold in the tub, how to surrender, even when the door is wide open and everyone is watching (although nobody’s home, nobody’s watching, nobody’s ever really watching)

Sarah Brose-138 Sarah Brose-139 Sarah Brose-141

Sarah Brose-158

Shoulderstand on what is soft and mushy, how to be a little bit naked and reach with my toes in front of a small bear named Rosie

Sarah Brose-165

How to “see the light in me” on the bed I use to disappear completely

Sarah Brose-169

For more of Carmin’s photos, go to: http://www.cdavidsonphotographyblog.com

One thought on “Do it in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

