Wake up and Want (Do it Again)

I want to make you pancakes.

I want to pour maple syrup and I want it to be real. I want to spill some on your chest hair on purpose. I want it to be there tomorrow because

I want you to taste like syrup always because

I want you to have the qualities of a tree.

I want to lie in a pile of puzzle pieces with you. I want to spend the afternoon only working on the corners and what if we left the middle. What if we left the middle as a big empty space the middle just space to stick our fingers through.

I want to make you pureed soup and

I want to blend only what’s in season.

I want to make you Middle-eastern food. I want you to eat it with your fingers and I want our kisses to taste like a delicate mix of lemon and mint.

I want you to place your hand on my belly. I want it to be below my belly button and I want you to tell me you like it best when it’s soft and round.

I want you to photograph me.

I want you to think I’m beautiful when I’m sleeping. Even when I wake up and my pillow is wet and I didn’t take my double-black mascara off the night before.

I want you to think it’s cute every time I wake up to pee.

I want you to never call me princess.

I want you to be curious about my first boyfriend.

I want you to be curious but only because that tells you more about me see

I want you to be the perfect mix of jelous and accepting.

I want to leave my underwear in your bed.

I want you to find them.

I want to leave my hairs all over your apartment.

I want you to find them.

I want to play the piano for you.

I want you to listen.

I want to slow dance with you and I want there to be no music and I want it to be the middle of the day.

I want you to help me when I’m lost.

I want you to fix the faucet.

I want you to hold all the broken faucet parts and try to put them back together.

I want you to hold all my broken parts and not try to put them back together.

I want you to know the difference between me and the faucet and

I want everything to be both literal and metaphorical,

Especially when we garden.

I want to wait for you to get home from work.

I want to be wearing an apron when you get home from work and

I want to have dinner ready.

I want to do all of these things and I want you to never think I am anything but the perfect mix of 50s housewife and independent woman.

I want you to like hanging out with my parents as much as I do.

I want you to massage my feet.

I want you to put my socks back on after.

I want to keep waking up,

With you

I want to keep wanting

With you,

I want to keep wanting,

You,

Even when we’re old and buy a house in Florida.

One thought on “Wake up and Want (Do it Again)

  1. Pingback: The Extraordinary | A Tale of Toronto

Leave a Reply

